Xero Integration – Advanced Settings

This article highlights the advanced integration features between DEAR and Xero.


Prerequisite


Table of Contents


Exporting Attachments to Xero

[back to top]


With this option toggled to Yes, existing sales and purchase attachments within DEAR are exported to Xero during synchronisation. If you do not want these attachments exported to Xero, do not turn on this option.

  1. Navigate to the Xero Integration Settings page.
  2. Toggle Export attachments to Xero to Yes.
  3. Click Save Changes.

NOTE:

  • Upon authorising an invoice, all attachments attributed to existing Sales and Purchases are exported to Xero along with the authorised invoice.
  • When a new attachment is attributed to a sale order or purchase along with an authorised invoice, the new attachment is immediately exported to Xero, as long as it is in the supported format.
  • When a new Advanced Sale is created with several invoices and several attributed attachments, the attachments are exported to each invoice in Xero.
  • Once an attachment has been exported to Xero, deletion of the attachment in either DEAR or Xero will not be synchronised, i.e. the attachment will not be deleted in the other system. If you want to delete a synchronised attachment, you must delete the attachment manually on both sides.

  • Not all attachments are supported. For example, while PDFs are supported, emails are not.

Automatic Synchronisation with XERO

[back to top]


You can set up the synchronisation of changes in DEAR Inventory to Xero at a convenient time by enabling and setting up Auto-Sync.


Set up Auto-Sync:

  1. Navigate to the Xero Integration Settings page.
  2. Toggle the Auto-synchronisation option to Yes.
  3. In the Auto-sync section, select the start date, start time, and frequency of synchronisation.
  4. Select the alert type for when errors are detected during synchronisation. If you choose Email, go to Step 5. If you choose Internal, you will be informed of the errors via a red button on the Notification icon on top – skip to Step 6.
  5. Enter the mailing list to which the alert will be sent. 
  6. Click Save.

NOTE:

  • Manual synchronisation should not be performed during scheduled system maintenance. The sync will not be triggered, and the auto-sync will be postponed until the next scheduled time. 
  • When Auto-sync is triggered, only the pending records to time will be synced; any previously failed records will not be synced.
  • Users are unable to manually sync while auto-sync is in progress. Auto-sync cannot be started while manual sync is running. Only one synchronisation operation can be in process at any one time. 

Viewing Sync Transaction Status and History

[back to top]


To view the status and history of sync transactions, navigate to IntegrationsXeroSync Now or See Sync History. You can then view the transactions on the Xero Synchronisation page.


All the synchronisation transactions are displayed along with their respective status. Click on a link in the What to Sync column to display the relevant page in DEAR. For example, clicking a customer name will display the Customer's page in DEAR. You may further narrow down the results by Entity or Status using the Filter function on the top right.


You can also view sync history by clicking the Sync history link that appears under Synchronisation status in the integration settings.


Audit Report

[back to top]


The audit report is available for users to know precisely when and at what time the sync took place, and the type of sync performed (manual or auto-sync). Any changes made to the auto-synchronisation parameters are also displayed in the report. All system activity is recorded in the report. See Audit Report for more information. 


Generate the Audit report:

  1. Log on to DEAR Systems.
  2. Navigate to Reports → Audit Report.


To refresh the report and view the most recent synchronisation logs on the screen, click the Refresh button.


You can also use Search to filter the report by date, type, or user name.


DEAR / Xero Reconciliation Report

[back to top]


The reconciliation report between DEAR and Xero keeps business operations transparent and allows you to see if the transactions tally between the two systems. Use this report to flag discrepancies for further investigation. This report only appears for accounts that have an active integration with Xero. 


See Xero Reconciliation Report for more information. 

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.