What is the Undo function? When is it no longer possible to Undo an invoice?

The Undo function returns a task (sale order, purchase order, production order, etc.) to a stage where previously entered data can be modified.


Once Undo is used on an authorised document, the document will be returned to Draft status and the user will need to re-authorise every step again. Undo does not delete information from the task – e.g, selecting Undo on a sale invoice will return it to draft status, but the order lines, quantities and prices will not be deleted. 


Permissions 

The user must have the Undo permission for a module to be able to Undo a purchase, sale, inventory or production task. Each module has a separate undo permission – a user can have the Undo permission for production module without being allowed to undo a sale task.

DEAR allows editing some authorised documents without performing undo. Users require the Purchase: Edit Authorised documents, or Production: Edit completed operations permissions to edit authorised documents without performing undo.

See Managing Users & Roles and User permissions explained for more information on user permissions. 



When the Undo function is used, DEAR will attempt to remove all accounting transactions and check if these tasks have already been exported to the accounting software.

  • For customers using QuickBooks Online, DEAR can remove invoices and modifications
  • For customers using Xero, the Undo functionality depends on the Consolidate Sales upon Exportsetting. 
    • The Undo function can be used on non-consolidated sales with no issues.
    • Sales can be consolidated and grouped per channel prior to exporting them to Xero. All invoices/credit notes with the same date, currency, tax inclusive/exclusive indicator, shop name and sales channel will be consolidated into a single daily invoice/credit note. It is not possible to Undo invoices or credit notes included in a consolidated invoice.
      • In this case, the only option available is to create a credit note for the whole order, then create a new order to reflect the correction needed on the additional order.

If you are trying to Undo a sales order with drop-shipped items, all unauthorised purchase orders created for drop shipping will also be deleted.


It is no longer possible to Undo a task if the products of that task have been used elsewhere. For example, a purchase order can not be undone if the purchased items have been sold, transferred to a different location, or used in a production operation. The consequent tasks must first be undone before the original purchase order can bee undone. 

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.